Bonniebeldanthomson’s Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Basic Dirt Love August 29, 2013

Filed under: at home,Day by Day — bonniebeldanthomson @ 12:22 am
Tags: , , , , , ,

I have two grandsons, aged nine and four, who have a unique set of circumstances to work through, circumstances that are not of their doing but which affect them profoundly.

Because of my love for them, I would like to be the wave that carries them past the sharp, hard reef; I would like to be the parent who gives an excuse note the day they’re set to write the hardest exam of the school year; I would like to be lemon balm and lavender and cool evening breezes to rock them to sleep. But each of these wishes is beyond me.

This is what I can do: I can give them a garden for picking berries and digging dirt, I can read with them stories of adventures and heros and joy at the end of trial, I can pray with and for them that the God of all power will lift, protect, and make them know His love to the end of their days.

 

One Response to “Basic Dirt Love”

  1. Cheryl Says:

    Your grandsons are so fortunate, Bonnie, to have you on their side of the circumstances not of their making!


Leave a comment